State of the industry :)

Anything not related to one of my specific games, like general polls or promo/sale announcements. For general talk about games, go to the Golden Lion subforum
jack1974
Pack leader

State of the industry :)

Post by jack1974 »

All right, I released C14 Dating on Steam. It didn't go in popular new releases either, but I expected that (the game is doing fine, it's not a problem). I studied the market recently and it seems that now:
- either you release a game with a big discount (there's one right now with a 85% launch discount!!!!!!) or cheap
- you need something unique (like the game made by my friend Dave, March Of The Living)
- you are a big publisher with a lot of money to spend on ads (like my friend Cliff Harris and others)

I am none of the above :mrgreen:
I don't want to launch a game with a big discount like that after people bought it on my site at full price. I'm not going to do bundles anymore, and while I could do some big discount on Steam/direct, for sure only after a lot of months the game is out, otherwise it feels like I'm cheating my fans/customers :)
I might do some cheaper games if I can keep the production costs down, which basically means no long story, and more focus on gameplay, even if it's riskier for sure.
It's pretty clear that it can't be a VN or dating sim, unless it's a big name (like a port of a super successful VN in Japan or made by some popular indie). I might really try to do a roguelike one day.

Anyway, I also noticed there's an anime card game now in the popular releases, a port from a PS Vita game. I haven't played it, but the numbers are quite impressive, 500 cards! (PSCD has about 130-140). It has sexy images... :lol:

At this point it's pretty clear that to succeed on Steam you need sexy stuff. Loren had them and was my best selling game: initially thought was a coincidence, but now...!