Version 1.5.5 testing

A sci-fi RPG game
User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.3 testing

Post by jack1974 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:33 pm

Yes you need to go in the save game directory and delete everything in it, for the location of savegames check this thread: viewtopic.php?f=33&t=2971
Sorry if I ask but I am not sure exactly about the bug, is like if you cast the fireball or the earthquake you only see the first animation frame and then it stops? or something else?

User avatar
Jaeger
Druid
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:30 am

Re: Version 1.5.3 testing

Post by Jaeger » Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:18 am

I got rid of all of the RenPy-related files I could find. Sadly, it didn't solve the problem.

Image

See the the puff of smoke hitting the enemy on the left? On the first hit, the explosion animation works like it normally does. However, if it hits the 2nd time, it will stay on first frame until the the following shot. The pattern will "reset" on a miss.

For a visual demonstration, let's say 6 shots are fired in a turn

1. Image

2. Image

3. Image

4. Misses

5. Image

6. Image

When I revert back to the 1.5.2 version the problem disappears.

User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.3 testing

Post by jack1974 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:10 am

Haha lol I thought we were talking about Loren (but you posted in the right forum, is my fault) so I actually checked Loren and not this game! Will look at it now :lol:

User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 testing

Post by jack1974 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:12 pm

I think I fixed it, updated the downloads in the first post (using zip with all OSes since is faster to build) and the thread title :)

User avatar
Jaeger
Druid
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:30 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 testing

Post by Jaeger » Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:52 pm

Thank you. It has been fixed. I'll play it some more to see if I can find any more anomalies.

User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 testing

Post by jack1974 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:05 pm

Thank you for finding out. When testing new builds I was always clicking to skip the shot so I never noticed the different behavior! :)

User avatar
Jaeger
Druid
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:30 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 testing

Post by Jaeger » Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:30 am

Are the Dredan Soldiers' Holy Sword attacks supposed to be unavoidable? The messages that flash during battle sometimes say they missed, but they still reduce one of my party members' current health 1/2. It was something I noticed since the 1.5.2 version, but I forgot to mention it.

I'm on Chapter 5, everything seems to be okay so far.

User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 testing

Post by jack1974 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:39 am

No you were right, even when they missed they would still do the damage (the holy sword and also phasor blast). Funny how in all those years I didn't notice (and even other players!!) :mrgreen:
Version 1.5.5 is uploaded!

User avatar
Jaeger
Druid
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:30 am

Re: Version 1.5.5 testing

Post by Jaeger » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:44 am

Just how old is this game? Either way, I appreciate the fact that you are still provide support for it.

Anyways, I have another bug to report. This bug actually existed in the previous versions as well. When entering and exiting the various locations on the map screen, sometimes the text overlap.

Image

I'm not sure exactly what triggers it, but sometimes the previous description on the map doesn't disappear when highlighting another location.

User avatar
jack1974
Pack leader
Posts: 13615
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 4:43 pm

Re: Version 1.5.5 testing

Post by jack1974 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:33 am

The game was first released in March 2011 :lol:
But I kept updating it when I can, like I do with all my games (not too often otherwise I can't release new games).
The bug you found is a "tooltip bug", will check it, is due to very old coding technique I used in that game.

Post Reply